Life Coach Linda

Affirmations: Do They Really Work?

Posted on: April 23, 2012

I have had a love- hate relationship with affirmations over the years.  My first attempts with them were quite awkward as I looked in the mirror and said things that I thought I should while deep inside not believing them to be possible.   For years I would have told you not to bother, but I am beginning to have a change of heart.

I now believe affirmations are about reminding us to shift our negative focus to a more positive one.  They are not magic and are best approached without force or expectation.  Let them remind you of the truth that is sometimes hidden by inner negative filters.   I tell my clients to keep them simple, at least 50% believable, and always word them in the present tense.

I was reading something by Louise Hay recently who is the Queen of Affirmations and decided to do a little experiment.  I wrote affirmations on post it notes and put them around the house:

  • I am grateful for this day and live it with love, truth, and joy.
  • I love foods that support my health.
  • My body is healthy and strong.
  • I have everything I need within me.
  • Prosperity loves me.
  • God is watching over and guiding me.

It may sound silly, but I have to tell you something is happening.  When I brush my teeth and read my affirmations, it makes me smile and I feel better prepared for a great day.  It feels like my overall mindset has been uplifted and refocused with these little reminders I’ve placed around my home.

So, I’m shifting out of the hate and into the love zone with affirmations.  What do you think?  What has your experience with affirmations been like?  Do you have any favorite ones?

1 Response to "Affirmations: Do They Really Work?"

I love to be inspired, and affirmations work. I find it hard to do them consistently, that is my dellima.

Leave a Reply

Linda Luke

Email Me

lifecoachlinda@gmail.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 513 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates

