Life Coach Linda

7 Steps for Shifting Out of a Negative Mood, Sadness, or Feeling Overwhelmed

Posted on: August 14, 2011

The other day I woke up feeling sad and overwhelmed.  My mind was full of news and images that were negative.  The country’s financial drama, an expensive assessment by my HOA, unemployment rates,  a local homeless man beaten to death, news of violence and war, a client with cancer, commercials for violent movies.  The list goes on and on.

Most of the time I don’t take these things on personally, but when I do I know it is important to take steps to shift out of the negative energy.  Here are some things that work for me and might work for you, too:

  1. Stop watching the news
  2. Meditate every morning
  3. Avoid books or movies with violence or hatred
  4. Nurture my body with healthy foods and exercise and plenty of rest
  5. Journal at least 5 things I am grateful for at the end of each day
  6. Practice being fully present and appreciating everyday moments
  7. Surround myself with people and things that lift my spirits and inspire me
1 Response to "7 Steps for Shifting Out of a Negative Mood, Sadness, or Feeling Overwhelmed"

Lovely post. good tips! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Linda Luke

Email Me

lifecoachlinda@gmail.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 513 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates

