Life Coach Linda

Stop Out of Control Snacking with this Quick and Easy Tool

Posted on: March 3, 2014

woman-eating-donut

I am not sure what got into me, but something surely did.  It all started with a little chocolate heart in a store checkout line.  That led to macaroni and cheese (lots of it) and a giant piece of cake that made my stomach hurt. The next day, I found myself eating an entire bag of Trader Joe’s Cheetos.  I felt out of control and disconnected from my true self.

What I needed was an intervention and I needed one quickly.  That’s when I decided to just STOP.  This little method really helps prevent over eating and unconscious snacking.

S – Stop what you are doing

T – Take a few deep breaths

O – Observe your body for real signs of hunger

P – Proceed with awareness

I am happy to report that I am back to my normal eating patterns even though my indulgences re-awakened the sugar craving monster.  If this little eating adventure had a purpose it would make it easier to digest (pun intended), and that is why I am hoping sharing the STOP method will help some of you.

Don’t forget to share your stories and comments by clicking: “Leave a comment” under the title of this post.

2 Responses to "Stop Out of Control Snacking with this Quick and Easy Tool"

We’ve all been there–pushing stuff into our mouths that we’ve resisted for so long. We know it’s emotional first, and physical second.

When that happens I forgive myself and remind myself that death is the final act for all of us no matter how carefully we eat and live.

There. Did that make you feel better?

Sure did. I just want to postpone it and enjoy life while I can.

Leave a Reply

Linda Luke

Email Me

lifecoachlinda@gmail.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 609 other followers

Categories

Twitter Updates

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 609 other followers

